THE PLACE WE BEGAN: Music of John Luther Adams
Streaming Concert
Thursday, Dec 3, 2020 @ 7:00pm
Filming location: Congregation Beth Israel

Access Livestream on the JLA Concert Page

Video will remain available to ticket holders for 48 hours after it airs.

Pulitzer Prize winner John Luther Adams’ evocative music brings us back to the source through nature, oneness and connection in this evening of peace and community healing. Congregation Beth Israel’s synagogue is considered one of the finest examples of Byzantine Revival architecture and a place of fellowship and friendship.

In partnership with Congregation Beth Israel

Works: JOHN LUTHER ADAMS | The Place We Began (2008): four electro-acoustic soundscapes
I. in a room
II. at the still point
III. in the rain
IV. the place we began

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS | Three High Places (2007)

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS | “Sky With Nameless Colors,” from Canticles of the Sky (2015)

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS | Noctilucent (2020) * —World Premiere
I. “It is the time of earth-changes…”
II. Night-Shining Clouds
III. “Earth in the moon-shadow fails…”

*Commissioned by Third Angle New Music with generous support from Betsy Russell

Tomás Cotik, violin
Inés Voglar Belgique, violin
Keiko Araki, violin
Wendy Richman, viola
Yura Lee, violin/viola
Valdine Mishkin, cello